RPWL | A New Dawn

A New Dawn

Release 2017

Die Konzeptalben „Wanted“ (2014) und „Beyond Man And Time“ (2012) gelten weithin als bisherige Höhepunkte in der mehr als ein Dutzend Platten umfassenden Diskografie der deutschen Artrocker RPWL. Pünktlich zu ihrem 20. Geburtstag bringt die Band jetzt ihren lange angekündigten Konzertfilm „A New Dawn“ heraus. Er zeigt die letzte Show der „Wanted“-Tour, die die Bayern im Oktober 2015 in ihrer Heimatstadt Freising als spektakulär inszenierte Mischung aus Rockkonzert, Multimedia-Event und Theateraufführung zum ersten und einzigen Mal in dieser Form auf die Bühne brachten. Beteiligt waren daran neben den Musikern selbst rund 50 Schauspieler und Komparsen.

Der Film „A New Dawn“ erscheint am 14. Juli 2017 bei Gentle Art Of Music auf Blue-ray und auf DVD. Darüber hinaus wird die die Audioversion des Konzertmitschnitts als Doppel-CD sowie als Triple-LP veröffentlicht. In einer Auflage von nur wenigen Hundert Exemplaren ist das Sahnehäubchen für Sammler erhältlich: Die äußerst opulent aufgemachte Limited Collector’s Box „A New Dawn“ beinhaltet neben sämtlichen genannten Bild- und Tonträgern zahlreiche Beigaben – darunter das Drehbuch der Aufführung in Freising, ein Poster, und als ganz speziellen Gimmick jeweils eine verschreibungsfreie Befreiungspille der Marke „Veritas Forte“.

Schon mit „Beyond Man And Time“ hatten RPWL musikalisch und thematisch ein großes Fass aufgemacht: Dieser erste Teil ihrer bis dato noch nicht abgeschlossenen Albumtrilogie über die Befreiung des Geistes bezog sich auf Friedrich Nitzsches Hauptwerk „Also sprach Zarathustra“. Das vielschichtige Konzept drehte sich um einen Protagonisten auf der Suche nach seinem wahren Ich. Als Fortsetzung ersannen RPWL dann eine ebenso fantasievolle wie skurrile Geschichte darüber, wie die Band eine als homöopathisches Mittel namens „Veritas Forte“ getarnte Rezeptur gegen geistige Ermüdung unters Volk zu bringen versuchte. Weil sie sich damit den Zorn politischer und religiöser Führer zuzog, ging sie in den Untergrund – RPWL wurden „Wanted“.

Die folgende Tour führte RPWL durch acht europäische Länder, wo die Gruppe ihre Gigs als hintersinnige multimediale Events zelebrierte. Unter ganz besonderen Vorzeichen fand das letzte „Wanted“-Konzert am 31. Oktober 2015 in Freising statt: Für diesen speziellen, komplett neu arrangierten Auftritt bekam die Show den Namen „A New Dawn“. Einzelne „Wanted“-Kapitel wurden erweitert, und die Inszenierung schlug nicht zuletzt mit schauspielerischen Mitteln elegant den Bogen zum „Beyond Man And Time“-Album zurück. Alles in allem geriet die Sache zu einem denkwürdigen Auftritt vor restlos begeistertem Publikum, den RPWL mit Fug und Recht als einen Meilenstein ihrer Karriere bezeichnen.

Die Blue-ray und die „A New Dawn“-DVD beinhalten identische zweistündige Stereo- und Surround-Mixe des Konzerts, jeweils sowohl in einer englischen als auch in einer deutschen Tonspur. Für die englische Version wurden die bei der Aufführung in deutscher Sprache vorgetragenen Sprecher- und Schauspielertexte synchronisiert. Auf beiden Formaten finden sich außerdem folgende, separat vom Hauptfilm anwählbare Extras: ein 15-minütiges „Making of“ des Konzertfilms, der in Freising als Zugabe gespielte Titel „Unchain The Earth“, und der offizielle Video-Clip von „Swords And Guns“.

Tracklisting Bluray/DVD

Prologue*
Revelation
Introduction*
Oh Hapless Man*
Swords And Guns
This Ancient Formula*
A Clear Cut Line
Wanted
Like To Like*
The Fisherman
Sound Of Loneliness*
Hide And Seek
From Paul To Saul*
Disbelief
Misguided Thought
Still Asleep
Home Shopping*
Perfect Day
Terror*
The Attack
The Eternal Recurrence*
A New Dawn
Revelation Reprise

Bonus (Bluray / DVD):
Unchain The Earth (Live)
Swords And Guns (Official Video Clip)
Making Of-Film (deutsch, engl. Untertitel)

* narration/acting

Tracklisting CD/Vinyl

Revelation
Swords And Guns
A Clear Cut Line
Wanted
Like To Like*
The Fisherman
Hide And Seek
Disbelief
Misguided Thought
Still Asleep
Home Shopping* (nur Vinyl)
Perfect Day
Terror*
The Attack
A New Dawn
Revelation Reprise
Unchain The Earth
Hole In The Sky

* narration/acting

Line-Up

Yogi Lang (vocals, keyboards)
Kalle Wallner (guitars)
Markus Jehle (keyboards)
Werner Taus (bass)
Marc Turiaux (drums)

Zusätzliche Informationen

Veröffentlicht 14.07.2017
Media Blu-Ray Digipak GAOM046BR
DVD Digipak GAOM046DVD
2CD Digipak GAOM046CD
3Vinyl Gatefold GAOM046LP
Collector’s-Box
(limited edition)
GAOM046BOX
Label Gentle Art Of Music
Vertrieb Soulfood

RPWL | A New Dawn

A New Dawn

Release 2017

The concept albums “Wanted” (2014) and “Beyond Man And Time” (2012) are widely recognized as the pinnacle of German art rock giants RPWL’s discography which meanwhile comprises more than a dozen releases. On the occasion of its 20th anniversary, the band is now set to release the long-awaited concert movie “A New Dawn.” It documents the last stop of the tour in support of the “Wanted” album and that evening the Bavarians played in their hometown of Freising, Bavaria in October 2015. The show is an elaborately assembled combination of elements of a rock concert, a multimedia event and a play. This was the first and only time that the mammoth-production was brought to the stage. In addition to the musicians themselves the cast comprised around fifty actors and extras.

The movie “A New Dawn” will be release on 14. July 2017 via Gentle Art Of Music on blue-ray as well as DVD. In addition to that, a recording of the concert will be released as double CD and triple LP. As a special edition of only several hundred copies, collectors can get the ultimate treat: in addition to the aforementioned parts the lavishly designed Limited Collector’s Box “A New Dawn” also comprises the script of the Freising performance, a poster and, as a very particular treat, one of the prescription liberation pills from the show, by the name of “Veritas Forte.”

With “Beyond Man And Time” RPWL had already started spinning the big wheel, both musically as well as thematically: the first part of the, then still evolving, album trilogy about the liberation of the mind was a direct reference to Friedrich Nietzsches opus magnum “Thus Spoke Zarathustra.” The multi-layered concept revolved around a protagonist, seeking his inner self. As a sequel RPWL came up with a both imaginative as well as bizarre story about a band trying to spread a homeopathic drug entitled “Veritas Forte” that is based on a secret recipe against tiredness of the mind among the people of the world. Being faced with the wrath of political and religious leaders, the band is driven underground – and is consequently “Wanted.”

The following “Wanted” tour lead RPWL through eight European countries where the group celebrated the gigs as delicately woven multi-media events. The last show of the tour, on 31. October 2015, took place under very special circumstances: for the occasion of this very special performance the show was not only massively re-arranged altogether, but it even received a new title: “A New Dawn.” Selected “Wanted” chapters were extended and the production directly established a connection with the “Beyond Man And Time” album – through the medium of acting. All in all the performance turned into a memorable show in front of an enthusiastic audience. RPWL refer to the night as one of the absolute highlights in their career – and rightly so.

The “A New Dawn” blue-ray and DVD versions comprise identical two-hour-long stereo and surround mixes of the concert, each with audio tracks in both English as well as German. For the English version the lines from the German-language live show were dubbed by the narrator and the actors. In both formats the following extras can be selected independently from the main movie: a fifteen-minute “Making of” of the concert movie, the recording of the encore of the Freising show “Unchain The Earth” as well as the official video clip of the splendid “Wanted” long track “Swords And Guns.”

Tracklisting Bluray/DVD

Prologue*
Revelation
Introduction*
Oh Hapless Man*
Swords And Guns
This Ancient Formula*
A Clear Cut Line
Wanted
Like To Like*
The Fisherman
Sound Of Loneliness*
Hide And Seek
From Paul To Saul*
Disbelief
Misguided Thought
Still Asleep
Home Shopping*
Perfect Day
Terror*
The Attack
The Eternal Recurrence*
A New Dawn
Revelation Reprise

Bonus (Bluray / DVD):
Unchain The Earth (Live)
Swords And Guns (Official Video Clip)
Making Of-Film (deutsch, engl. Untertitel)

* narration/acting

Tracklisting CD/Vinyl

Revelation
Swords And Guns
A Clear Cut Line
Wanted
Like To Like*
The Fisherman
Hide And Seek
Disbelief
Misguided Thought
Still Asleep
Home Shopping* (nur Vinyl)
Perfect Day
Terror*
The Attack
A New Dawn
Revelation Reprise
Unchain The Earth
Hole In The Sky

* narration/acting

Line-Up

Yogi Lang (vocals, keyboards)
Kalle Wallner (guitars)
Markus Jehle (keyboards)
Werner Taus (bass)
Marc Turiaux (drums)

Additional Information

Release14 July 2017
MediaBlu-Ray DigipakGAOM046BR
DVD DigipakGAOM046DVD
2CD DigipakGAOM046CD
3Vinyl GatefoldGAOM046LP
Collector’s-Box
(limited edition)
GAOM046BOX
LabelGentle Art Of Music
DistributionSoulfood